Please wait...


The School started as a Department (Dept. of Agric. Economics) in the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences in Njala before the Civil war in 1991.
 - B.Sc. Economics with Education was one of the main programmes- Degree awarded by the Faculty of Education.
Many programmes emerged when the University was displaced and relocated to Freetown. Such as:

 - B.Sc. Sociology
 - B.Sc. Banking & Finance
 - B.Sc. Accounting

The Njala University gained it full autonomous status in 2005.
  - The Faculties were established as Schools.
Hence, the School of Social Sciences was established.
The School was renamed ‘School of Social Sciences & Law’ in 2018/2019 academic year when the Law programme was established in the 2017/2018 academic year.

The school remains one of the largest schools in the University for both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

Thus, in terms of tuition fees, it remains the main bread basket of the University.

There is prospect to establish new programmes and expanding on existing ones in every departments


Departments and Institutes in the School

There are six (6) Departments and Institutes in the school, as listed:
i)   Economics
ii)  Sociology & Social Work
iii) Agricultural Economics
iv) Law
 v)  Institute of Social Studies, Administration & 
      Management (ISSAM)
vi) Institute of Moral & Religious Studies

Facilities in the School

The existing facilities in the school are:

 - One main building with 4 lecture rooms and 14 offices for over 50 Lecturers; and a flat allocated to the School in which the ISSAM programmes are accommodated. 

 - The Department of Law is hosted in a building that was in use by the Department of Agricultural Education, Bo campus.  This building has two (2) classrooms and a small room which has been converted to a library for Law students.

The Department of Agricultural Economics is located and operated on Njala Campus but it is directly under the supervision of the School.