Please wait...


The department of Horticulture is one of the five departments in the School of Natural Resources Management. It was established through the University Act in 2005 and is one of the new creations of Njala University. The department trains students to manage our natural resource, develops the middle man-power in the horticultural sector, improves crop yield, quality and nutritional value through innovative teaching, research and outreach. The department also trains students to use horticulture as new approach in solving the prevailing environmental problems as no single discipline can now solve the world’s environmental issues. Principles of propagation and domestication of vegetables, fruits, flowers, and ornamentals, nursery management, plant nutrition, postharvest technology, agri-business, amenity tree management, turfgrass management, research methods, landscape and environmental horticulture are the major components of the syllabus. The training offered by the department enables students to put principles into practices to produce excellence.


Horticulture is a lucrative discipline with numerous opportunities such as job, research, business, consultant etc. Graduates of the Department of Horticulture have a high prospect of getting employment in the horticultural or agricultural sectors. They are easily employed as horticulture is a new area of study with less competition for the job. Our graduates are also trained as job creators rather than job seekers. They will always be making progress in the act of career development, research and making money honestly.

Academic Programmes

The department is mandated by the University senate to run Certificate, Diploma, Undergraduate and Postgraduate programmes. The following are the programmes offered by the Department of Horticulture.

  • M.Sc. Horticulture
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Horticulture
  • Higher National Diploma (HND) in Horticulture
  • Ordinary Diploma (OD) in Horticulture
  • Certificate in Horticulture


  1. B.Sc. [Hons] Horticulture (Duration 4 years)
  • General University Requirements: 5 Credits passes at GCE ‘O’ Level/WASSCE, including English language and Mathematics in not more two sittings. In addition to the above, candidates must have credit pass in one of the following: Chemistry, Biology, Physics and Agricultural Science as a departmental requirement.
  1. Certificate and Diploma Programmes
  • 4 credits at GCE ‘O’ Level/WASSCE including one credit related to the programme of study in not more than two sittings for a higher diploma.
  • 3 credits at GCE ‘O’ Level/ WASSCE including one credit related to the programme of study in not more than two sittings for the ordinary diploma.
  • 2 credits at ‘O’ level/WASSCE including one credit related to the programme of study in not more than two sittings for the certificate in horticulture.