Department of Chemistry

  • lab
  • chemistry lab
  • lab
  • lab

Name of Department: Department of Chemistry, School of Environmental Sciences (NU)

About the Department

The Department of Chemistry covers teaching and research in seven (7) areas: Organic Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Environmental Health and Environmental Sciences.

The Department of Chemistry is committed to fostering a respectful workplace culture. We (academic staff, administrative staff, technical/lab staff, and students) strive to cultivate a safe, inclusive and fair environment where our staff, faculty, researchers and students can thrive as they advance new environmental and/or chemical frontiers through research, innovation, collaboration and scholarship.

The Department of Chemistry sits at an intellectual and physical nexus of the basic sciences, engineering, education and the environment at Njala University. In addition to conducting our own forms of exciting research, our natural synergies with the other sciences have led our faculty and students into fascinating exchanges and collaborative projects across disciplines. We continue to advance fundamental knowledge in chemistry, and the environment and open new vistas in the areas of energy, and human health.

As a relatively small department, we are able to provide close interactions among students and faculty. Many of our undergraduates and all of our graduate students participate in state-of-the-art chemistry research, working with a faculty mentor. Our distinguished graduates go on to employment in academia, industry, environment, and government; many of our Bachelor’s degree graduates are admitted to highly-ranked graduate chemistry programs, medical, or dental/non-medical schools.


General Chemistry (Basic chemistry), Organic Chemistry, Biochemistry, Inorganic Chemistry/Bioinorganic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry (Thermodynamics, Reaction Kinetics, Electrochemistry, Phase equilibria, Applied Spectroscopy, Photo and Nuclear Chemistry, Surface Chemistry, Chemical Equilibrium, Analytical Chemistry, Stereochemistry, etc), Spectroscopy, Soil Chemistry, Waste Management, Water Chemistry, Pollution Chemistry, Atmospheric Chemistry, Fuel Chemistry, Seminars, Analytical chemistry, Environmental Monitoring, Photochemistry, Nuclear Chemistry, Surface Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry, Entrepreneurship Education, etc.


The current operational programmes are as follows:

  1. B.Sc. Environmental Chemistry
  2. B.Sc. Chemistry
  3. Masters of Science in Environmental Chemistry
  4. M. Phil. and PhD. Programmes are also available in the above disciplines

The following programs have been approved by NU Senate but not operational yet:

  1. Bachelor of Science in Environmental Management and Toxicology (B.Sc. EMT)
  2. Technician/Higher Diploma in Environmental Sampling and Monitoring
  3. MPhil and PhD in Chemistry
  4. MPhil and PhD in Environmental Chemistry

Staff Member

Department of Chemistry 
  Name of Staff Profile Position Status Remark
Senior Academic Staff
1 Dr. Alhaji Brima Gogra Profile Senior Lecturer (Ag. Dean) Full time At post
2 Mr. John Paul Kaisam Profile Lecturer 1 (Ag. HOD*) On Study Leave On Course
3 Mr Edwin Sam Mbomah   Lecturer 1 Full time At post
4 Mr A.B.S Mansaray   Lecturer 2 On Study Leave (PhD) Completed but not return yet
5 Mr David Henry Jimmy   Lecturer 1 Full time  At post
6 Mr Yahaya K Kawa Profile Lecturer 1 On Study Leave (PhD) On Course
7 Mr Mohamed Dumbuya   Lecturer 1  Full time At Post
8 Mr Issa Turay   RTA Status to be reviewed Full time At post
9 Dr Alhaji Ibrahim Sankoh   Associate Lecturer Associate Lecturer At Post
Senior Supporting Staff
10 Mr Alfred D Moriba   Principal Lab Technician Technical (SEESSA) At Post
Junior/Auxillary Staff
11 Mr Alie Bah   Laboratory Apprentice Full time (JSA) At post



Tel: +23278820533


Skype ID: abgogra